Two things in my head for Christmas 2019

Ben Jolliffe
Resurrection Church
3 min readDec 18, 2019

Thing #1 — I have been re-reading Fleming Rutledge’s Advent book as I prepare a few sermons of my own and one line kept returning to my head. At one point (couldn’t find the reference), she reminds her readers, “don’t lose confidence in the text.” From Rutledge’s standpoint, her denomination was in danger of forgetting to use the texts of Scripture in their Advent messages. She points out that it is easy for experienced church people to get bored of the familiar texts instead of mining them for truths that apply year after year.

Thing #2 — Our toddler is learning to sleep in a “big boy bed,” and as with most toddlers, is learning to stay in bed when put there for the night. Most nights it takes a few attempts to get him to stay. A few nights ago, after a few returns to the bed, when my patience was growing thin, I heard him begin to sing. He doesn’t sing much, having just turned two in late October. His repertoire is mostly Wheels on the Bus and Twinkle, Twinkle at this point. But that night, he sang a two year version of “heav’n and nature sing” from Joy to the World over and over until he fell asleep. I had no idea he knew that song at all.

Things 1 & 2 renewed my appreciation for the parts of Christmas that after 36 years have become very familiar to me. I can sing most of the carols by heart. I know the stories by heart. I have written trivia questions on obscure Christmas facts. I have preached yearly batches of sermons on the coming of Christ.

It is easy for my soul and mind to get tired of the same facts and the same stories. But, I have remembered in recent days that for some people in my life, it is all brand new. The stories are new, the songs are new and part of the joy of Christmas is unpacking the ‘same old, same old’ for those brand new to it. It is easy, even in the middle of church, to get wrapped up in thinking about what Christmas services have to offer me instead of questioning how they can be helpful for the young and old who are new or new-ish to all of it. It is crazy and humbling how quickly you can make Christmas revolve around yourself.

But second, there is always something for experienced Christians to return to at Christmas. We must not neglect the texts or sing only new songs simply because we have become bored of what we did last year. Rather, we cultivate habits of returning to the same texts year after year to see what new treasures we find or more likely, what old treasures we have forgotten. I need to be reminded that things were so bad on earth that Jesus needed to come. I need to be reminded that part of that bad was the stuff in my heart. I need to be reminded that he came gladly, to bring joy, peace and love to all the peoples of the earth.

I need Christmas and so does my toddler and so does my church.

--

--

Ben Jolliffe
Resurrection Church

Church planter, pastor, living in Ottawa with my wife, four kids and a bite-y cat.