Sharon Brogdon
RetailMeNot Diversity & Inclusion
5 min readJan 18, 2019

--

2019 REFLECTIONS ON DR. KING’S DREAM

January is a time of reflection for me — a time to celebrate successes of the previous year and think about the great possibilities that lie in the months ahead. In this time of reflection, one fact remains top of mind: for as long as I can remember, I am most often the only African-American face and voice in the room. I have been married for 33 years to a brilliant African-American man, and we have raised two amazing African-American children (yes, I am unashamedly-biased when it comes to my family!). I can say they, too, are more often than not, the only African-American face and voice in the rooms they occupy outside of our home. Some may ask why this matters.

For my family and I, it is our everyday, lived experience. We experience our world through a lens of being an ‘underrepresented minority’. No harm, judgement or foul, it just is our experience — and we are not alone. While it is always a present thought, this time of year often amplifies my reflection and my purpose to drive change in this underrepresented space in which I live and work.

January has a heightened significance for me as our nation recognizes the birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and commemorates his work as a prominent leader of the civil rights movement in the early 1950s through late 1960s. Among his many accomplishments, his work played a significant role in the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 which abolished the “separate but equal” Jim Crow laws and outlawed discrimination in any type of public accommodation. In his moving “I Have a Dream” speech, delivered in 1963, Dr. King spoke of his vision of equality, justice and the breaking down of racial barriers.

Fast-forward 56 years and Dr. King’s dream continues to resonate long after his passing. As both a mother and certified D&I practitioner, I am grateful that my children live in a time where they have greater opportunities than the generations before them who fought for their right to access and opportunity. However, I still worry about their opportunity to reach their full professional potential when they are viewed as different every time they walk into a room. It continues to remind me of why this work is so important. Thinking of them fuels my commitment to ensure people from all walks of life have an unobstructed opportunity to be their best.

I am energized and consider it a privilege to know that my current role as Head of D&I at RetailMeNot contributes to creating workplace environments where people of all colors, life experiences, nationalities, gender identity and beliefs have equal access and opportunity to not only be represented in the room, but to have an influential voice and seat at the table of decision-making and power. I am excited to be a part of creating this climate of ‘safe and respectful space’ where people are willing to say, without fear of judgement, “I show up and respond the way I do because this is my life experience and lens. I am open and want to learn about you and your unique point-of-view, so we can better understand each other’s journey and work together in a respectful way that enables us all to be our authentic, best selves.”

In short, I am humbled to know that in leading the D&I program at RetailMeNot I have the opportunity, if even in a small way, to help fulfill a small measure of Dr. King’s dream.

I recognize that I stand on the shoulders of strong men and women whose lived experience was the segregated South. I stand on the shoulders of my college-educated mother who, ahead of her time, wanted to be an Optometrist but could not pursue a STEM discipline because African-American women at that time could only aspire to be educators. She continued to push the envelope and became a registered dietician and public health nutritionist. I stand on the shoulders of my great uncle who defied the odds of the rural South to become a decorated military veteran, university professor, President of a Historically Black College, Representative to the United Nations and regularly met with Presidents and dignitaries around the world. While I, as one person stand on the shoulders of the heroes, she-roes, mentors, sponsors and influencers in my life experience, I know there are so many others out there of all persuasions who are standing on shoulders as well and wholeheartedly believe in the vision of Dr. King.

I believe Dr. King’s dream is possible. As a nation, we have made significant strides in the decades since his soul-stirring speech. We no longer have segregated bathrooms and drinking fountains. People of color are free to attend the college or university of their choice and pursue the career of their dreams. People of color are rising to the highest ranks of our military, becoming leaders of Fortune 500 companies, Presidents and high-ranking administrators of the most prestigious colleges and universities, achieving positions of power and decision-making in politics and the highest courts in the nation and have even been elected President of the United States (twice!). With all of these proof points of progress, we still have so much work to do. Just like my family, so many other professionals of color still find themselves as sole representatives in the decision-making room (if they have been included), and often without a seat at the table.

The path to sustained and systemic change is a journey that requires participation from every individual. I believe it begins when we can let go of judgement, bias, and fear. When we accept our co-workers, neighbors, and fellow men and women as the marvelous, unique human beings they were created to be, and there is a seat at the table where their unique perspectives and talents are welcomed, respected, included and celebrated.

In this time of reflection in 2019, I emerge energized and deeply committed to continuing to do my small part to help fulfill Dr. King’s dream from the platform I have at RetailMeNot. My hope is there will come a day in my lifetime when every face and voice is represented in critical mass and has a seat at the decision-making, thought-leadership table. In reflecting on Dr. King’s work as we celebrate his birthday, I hope others will consider the role they can play, big or small, in joining me to further his efforts and make his dream a reality.

--

--