DIY: Cat Tree w/ Drink Shelf — Customer Satisfaction

Jonathan Kim
ReThink Reviews
Published in
7 min readApr 29, 2019

--

Appreciation is a gift that keeps giving

Another satisfied customer

I’ve completed some fairly big projects as a novice woodworker that I’m quite proud of, including a small outdoor deck and a king-sized bed frame with headboard. But the project that gives me the most joy is this cat tree with drink shelf that I made for my wife’s sometimes surly cat Snowpants, who is now also my cat too.

My wife and I are big fans of the Animal Planet show “My Cat From Hell”, where cat behaviorist Jackson Galaxy goes to the homes of desperate cat owners to help them solve seemingly intractable problems that have owners at their wits’ end. A common solution Galaxy proposes is giving cats elevated spaces like a cat tree or shelves where they can feel safe, observe household activity from a high perch, and travel around rooms without having to be on the floor. This is especially helpful if the cats are being harassed by dogs, other cats, or small children, or they simply don’t have a place they can call their own where they can relax.

Snowpants and Paulo

Fortunately, Snowpants is a confident cat with none of these issues. My wife and I used a slow, deliberate strategy to introduce Snowpants to my…

--

--

Jonathan Kim
ReThink Reviews

Used to be a film critic, now writes about tech (mostly Apple), and sometimes woodworking