On iPhone Batteries and “All-Day” Usage

Jonathan Kim
ReThink Reviews
Published in
12 min readJan 28, 2020

--

Was I wrong that iPhones don’t need bigger batteries?

Over a year ago, I wrote one of my most-read (and controversial) tech posts, “Why iPhones Don’t Need Bigger Batteries”. In it, I argued that large batteries were becoming less necessary because the phone-charging paradigm might be shifting from one overnight charge per day to several shorter charges throughout the day using less obtrusive methods like inductive “wireless” charging and, eventually, true wireless over-the-air charging. I also argued that because of Apple’s culture, they were more likely to try to increase battery life using more efficient processors, smarter software, and new technologies than using larger batteries, especially if larger batteries made iPhones thicker and heavier. Besides, a smartphone with a multi-day battery would essentially be like carrying around an external battery that you would hardly ever use since most people are able to charge their phones within a 36-hour period. You can read the whole post here.

But now I have an iPhone 11 Pro, which made such a massive year-over-year increase in battery life from 2018’s iPhone XS that many people (including myself) could probably go two full days without charging. The iPhone 11 Pro’s battery life is so good that not only have I stopped charging my phone overnight, but I don’t even bother plugging it in when I’m driving…

--

--

Jonathan Kim
ReThink Reviews

Used to be a film critic, now writes about tech (mostly Apple), and sometimes woodworking