Danny Lee Blackwell and the Evolution of Night Beats’ Psychedelic Sound

RetroFuturista
Retro futurista
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2024
© Night Beats

Night Beats, an American psychedelic and garage rock project, was founded in 2009 by Danny “Lee Blackwell” Rajan Billingsley in Seattle, Washington. The name is inspired by Sam Cooke’s album “Night Beat.” Initially, Night Beats was a solo project with early works like “H-Bomb” being recorded solely by Billingsley.

The project’s sound is a blend of various influences. Their 2016 album, ‘Who Sold My Generation’, is characterized by its gritty, fuzz-drenched garage rock. In contrast, the 2013 album ‘Sonic Bloom’ features soulful grooves and rhythms infused with funk.

In 2019, Night Beats collaborated with Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys to produce “Myth of a Man,” resulting in a more polished sound while still embracing their psychedelic origins.

Their sixth studio album, “Rajan,” scheduled for release in July 2023, marks another step in their musical journey.

How has the concept of space or place influenced your most recent album?

I can be influenced by things far smaller on scale than notions of space or place. The lyrics and music come from my head, so I don’t know … like an ant trying to understand why he’s cold. I do like experimenting with different lengths of patterns though, within the structure of an album. “Blue” for instance really gives the listener time to sink in and step into that world. “Anxious Mind” gives the listener a mood or picture to fill in with their own ideas.

What’s a personal habit or routine that helps you stay creative and productive?

Playing the drums, writing down everything, seize the idea and explore, come back to it if it calls.

© Night Beats

How do you approach the balance between digital and analog sounds in your productions?

I prefer analog because it is naturally closer to the tone and sounds I love, but I like using what’s in front of me. I don’t like the idea of limiting myself to one medium, I think it’s fun to work with nearly anything. I’d like to make anything sound good, by how I approach it.

What role does improvisation play in your music creation process?

Improvisation is the root to all ideas. A live Night Beats show is mostly improvisation over the structure of songs I’ve written and chosen to play. Improvisation is more tapped into feeling, which I have a lot more of then technical information.

Read the full interview with Night Beats at Retrofuturista.com

--

--

RetroFuturista
Retro futurista

Lifestyle weblog about alternative music, sci-fi, science, comics, art, cinema, and more