The Legendary Rock Photography of Masayoshi Sukita: An Interview

RetroFuturista
Retro futurista
Published in
4 min readMay 30, 2024
©Sukita 1977/1997 Rischi Folio. Inc. Courtesy of David Bowie Archive ™

When we think of time travel, iconic images like the DeLorean, the Tardis, or special portals often come to mind. Since 1826, photography has served as a time machine, providing more than just special time capsules. Masayoshi Sukita’s photography transports us to an era filled with incredible and talented artists. He captured phenomena, faces, and bodies, preserving moments forever. Sukita has taken some of the most stunning pictures of David Bowie ever. From a young age, Sukita developed a passion for music and photography. In 1961, he joined the photographic department of Daiko Advertising Inc. in Osaka and moved to Tokyo in 1965. By 1970, he began working as a freelance photographer. Sukita frequently traveled to New York, attracted by the counterculture of Andy Warhol and Jimi Hendrix. He met Bowie for the first time in 1972 when he arrived in London to photograph Marc Bolan and T. Rex. Since then, they have created remarkable images over the course of their intense and fruitful forty-year friendship. No other photographer documented Bowie over as many years as Sukita. His photographs graced Bowie’s album covers from “Heroes” (1977) to “Tin Machine” (1989) and “The Next Day” (2013). Their numerous sessions together resulted in one of the most amazing and enduring artistic collaborations. Sukita’s photos and creativity captivate everyone. His works are featured in the Brooklyn Museum’s “Who Shot Rock & Roll” exhibition and have been exhibited at Creation Gallery G8, The Guardian Garden, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Shibuya Parco Museum, Paul Smith Space Gallery, SNAP Galleries in London, Inter Media Station IMS in Fukuoka, Bigstep in Osaka, and many others. Sukita has published several photo books, including “Yellow Magic Orchestra by Sukita,” “Bowie by Sukita,” “Speed of Life,” which covers his entire collaboration with Bowie, and other works such as “A Film by Jim Jarmusch: Mystery Train,” “David Bowie ‘KI’ by Masayoshi Sukita,” and “T. Rex 1972 by Sukita.” He also released “Sukita: Eternity,” a book that not only portrays Bowie but spans many eras of his career, from music to fashion and everything in between.

©Sukita Masayoshi Sukita Portrait

What is the main reason that motivated you to become a photographer? Why did you choose photography as your style and medium of art communication? Have you always had a clear vision about your career since your childhood?

I have been a big movie fan since I was a child. The movies I watched might have made me interested in visual images. I prefer monochrome photos, it may be from monochrome movies I watched.

What piece of art impressed you the most as a child? What are your favorite recollections linked to art and photography? Who have you looked up to as a person and an artist?

As I answered for the last question, movies were the biggest influences. I watched many kinds of movies — Japanese, western. James Dean and Marlon Brando were my idols at the time.

©Sukita — T. Rex Marc Bolan and Mickey Finn

Do you remember your first camera and the subjects in your first film roll?

When I was a high school student, I asked my mother to buy me a cheap camera. My father died in WW2 and our family had a hard time (financially too), but my mother bought me the camera even in the difficulties. I took my mother, family and my dog first. The photo of my mother is still the best photo to me in my photographer’s life.

© Sukita — David Bowie in Japan, 1980

Since 1972, you have collaborated with David Bowie, scrutinizing and portraying snapshots, making many moments of his career eternal. When you first met, did you imagine or have a sign that it would last for many years? What are your best memories about this friendship?

I was not sure if I felt that I wanted to do it for 40 years, but sure I wanted to shoot him again. He was photogenic, an interesting person to shoot indeed. The next time I shot him in 1973, I was feeling I would like to go after his career as possible.

Read the full interview with Masayoshi Sukita at Retrofuturista.com

--

--

RetroFuturista
Retro futurista

Lifestyle weblog about alternative music, sci-fi, science, comics, art, cinema, and more