From the Poetic Archive: July 30, 2018

Classifieds: Poet Seeking Muse

N. Sowers
Revellations
1 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

I’m missing someone I haven’t met yet,
I want you to put words in my sestet,
And no, that’s not a cute euphemism.
I want someone to give body to this
Spirit of poetry, cause right now
It’s just me.
I’m going in circles with the same distant sounds
I’ve heard in my mind since I sprung from the ground.
I just want to lay next to you and depict
The exact fold where your ear meets your neck
Like it’s the only thing that matters in the world.
I want a reason I can’t sleep at night.
Not ’cause I’m so empty I float off my bed;
I want to be full of you instead!
Inspiring your scent with every breath,
I want you to live inside my chest;
Great our guests in my right atrium.
Pour your life in my ear, let it stick
To the folds of my mind and mold there.
I want to feel your twirling volta,
The vertigo would be worth it.
I’ll take the weight of carrying two,
If it means you and I may intertwine,
’Cause this page where I live was never mine,
So why can’t I share with you?

--

--

N. Sowers
Revellations

UCSD Class of 2020 | English Literature Major in Revelle College | Words come from a Head, not a Hat