Going Back Home

Shirin Asefi
Revellations
Published in
1 min readJun 14, 2018

A lifelong yearning for things past

Setting my eye upon what is safe

From my mind corrosive and fast

To turn the present into dystopia.

Memories settle into my soul

I dredge them up with greedy fingers

And stick them all into this hole

Glut myself on the new utopia.

Have I dreamt twenty years away?

Your ghost has been as true as death

Growing brighter still by the day

My very own self-imposed myopia.

And what happens when these things turn

And swirl into that cruel reality

Which never equal in how I yearn

Are far from that imagined cornucopia?

Lord, won’t you stay by my side?

I am lost and shattered in finitude

Draw down a shadow, let me hide

From my infinite atelophobia.

--

--

Shirin Asefi
Revellations

because someone’s gotta sing the stars and someone’s gotta sing the rain and someone’s gotta sing the blood and someone’s gotta sing the pain