Photo by Bjorn Snelders on Unsplash

my father once taught me how to breathe;

Katie Clemmer
Revellations
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

my father once taught me how to breathe; he took me in his arms

and whispered the truths of the Earth between us so that the light of the

Sun

would dance and dance for days on end

and I

would understand

the secrets of footprints left behind;

all morning, he lifted my chest

Joyous and proud and full, never empty

but rounded

in wholeness;

my father once taught me how easily forgotten the universe is; to grasp the seeds

and plant them, inside you, consuming a bouquet

of even the smallest of leaves or flowers,

to caress your skin,

and sigh, along with every intake and outburst of wind,

the minuscule, the most important, patching the holes between the missing ligaments

of being;

my father once taught me how we choose to live our lives for things, and people, that are

defined within the importance of us; that give meaning to us,

the bag,

the bag

for example, carrying him inside, his tears, his wishes, his blood,

he’s there

holding onto himself by thread

dragging

and dragging behind a cape

for an ancient, forgotten king

that is now bones beneath our feet;

weary bones that gave and gave

and gave

the marrow inside, until its hollow-shelled existence, begged for rest,

yet, he still tried his best to smile.

--

--