Out in the Sea

Jackson McGlasson
Revellations
Published in
1 min readMar 10, 2020

I stare out into the sea, and I think, what can match this? Where can I find such infinite splendor but here? The sun speckles the horizon as the waves dance to the shore.

I close my eyes. The crash of waves washes through my ears and into my mind, leaving me drifting. This is the place where I can forget.

Here I stand, motionless, my eyes wandering until the sun sets. There is peace here, consistency. The sound is immemorial: crashing, rushing, and drifting, long before we ever set foot here. This is a moment of peaceful isolation where then and now meet and continues forever. Here, time is eternal, but I’m not.

The sun goes down; I’m alone; it’s time to go. I must return to our hectic modernity. I gather my thoughts, ready to run back to where I came from, to return in my dreams and in times of peace, to this second home.

I finish watching the water crash on the border of the unknown, ready to continue my path, swimming against the currents of life.

--

--