Poems From A Poetry Party

Roger Revelle
Revellations
Published in
1 min readApr 18, 2023

These tanka style poems were written in a poetry party in which each author wrote one half a poem, then finished another’s poem.

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Alyson Zabala & Alvin Jones II:

What exactly is

a god? If not just a man

that I fear again.

An apathetic creature

watching us fall through the world.

Alvin Jones II & Alexandre Cridlig:

The cradle rocks slow

Swaying the babe who rests there

Guarding its young heart

Dawn rises red, loss fills the morning sky;

Antithesis.

Alexandre Cridlig & Karishma Ramnath:

Lids lid what speaks; spirit flows through–

a soft doublet, tragic halts/sweet starts…

Sheltered beneath a sea of fins

waves swathing worlds o’ wonder

Garrett Aja & Rhiannon Scray:

Tell me the truth please,

I know it won’t be pretty.

But I crave your voice,

even if it cuts, i will

love every word from your lips.

Rhiannon Scray & Alyson Zabala:

sitting at the dusty

table among the rain

and moths and spiders

I close my eyes and whisper

“Thank you all for being here.”

Karishma Ramnath & Garrett Aja:

Among the stars its so cold

fire may burn so brightly

yet worth pennies

If I could wish upon them

Would they spurn me as you have done?

--

--