Erin Baseman
Revellations
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The Caraid Dictionary

Preface

The Caraid Dictionary believes that words are a reflection of the human experience, both within one’s own thoughts and how they are projected out into the world. If words can be taken to paint the picture of an experience, then that experience in and of itself is a work of art. In this dictionary, it may become evident that some words hold more weight to you than to other people. The exploration of these words allows us to find meaning behind actions without sacrificing the integrity of the moment.The Caraid Dictionary encourages anyone to find the words that paint their most accurate picture and to reflect, make peace, and create new beginnings.

Amend verb: To improve or make better.

Example: The price of making amends is far superior to pretending we don’t see each other passing on the street. Although, imagining what you think about me is easier than asking.

Childhoodnoun: The time spent as a child before entering adulthood. Typically a time learning how to socialize and make friends.

Example: Our childhood was spent carpooling to school and playing pretend in the backyard. We would trade secrets and learn how we fit in each other’s worlds. Our time growing up together was discovering how to love each other as a sister would.

Comfortableadjective: The state of being at ease in a situation or in someone’s presence.

Example: Having been friends as long as we were, it felt impossible to not be comfortable around you. We laughed at inside jokes from the 6th grade, so being with you felt as though I was talking with myself. There was no one else who saw me stagger through middle school in all my awkward glory and decide to come along.

Distancenoun: The space that sits between two people or objects; physically and/or mentally.

Example: When you moved away, I didn’t think the distance would affect our connection, but the roadblocks you put up in our friendship made you feel further than the miles between us. Without message or warning, you were just gone.

Emotion noun: An instinctive response to situations, behaviors, and relationships with other people.

Example: I started to realize we never shared our emotions with each other. I wanted to tell you how you were making me feel, but that’s just not what we did. It would lead to awkward conversations and how the way I felt was nothing compared to the way you did.

Holidaynoun: A day spent in celebration or leisure; typically associated with religion or government.

Example: When you came home for the holidays, it was hard to remember why it felt like anything was wrong. Our time together was just as it had always been, like nothing had changed. Our same favorite movies were watched as we lounged on the couch all day, only getting up to get refills of our favorite snacks.

Jealous adjective: The feeling of envy for something another person has.

Example: I felt jealous when I saw the pictures of picnics you would post with your new friends. I would comment, “SO cute!” underneath, and sink into my chest when you didn’t reply. The liked comment I got instead is representative of what you felt for me. You liked me because I was your friend, but maybe not my sister.

Laughternoun: The act and/or sound of laughing. Usually in response to something funny or a moment of joy.

Example: Your laughter rang throughout the car and swelled inside of me while I scream-sang out the window on the highway. Summer has a tendency to melt away my insecurities and forget what hums throughout my mind the other nine months of the year.

Mothernoun: A woman in relation to her child and/or offspring.

Example: I used to nod in solidarity when you would complain about your Mother in school, but your differences seem to be getting smaller and smaller the more we age. Now I see why you were so frustrated with her. No one likes being treated like this. I get that now.

Pretendverb: To behave in a way so that something appears to be what it’s not.

Example: We pretend to be nothing more than ex schoolmates who were never more than the occasional desk partner when the teacher assigned us seats. We give polite smiles at functions and ask what the other’s been up to. As if we aren’t each other’s biggest silent supporter. Memories that flash behind my eyes are nothing more than a dusty book on the bottom shelf with your inscription.

Sorryadjective: To feel regret or remorse as a consequence of an action.

Example: I’m sorry I didn’t do more to fix what was broken, but I’m sorry you didn’t either.

--

--