THE ENVIRONMENTAL DANCE

Exploring the relationship between dance and different environments.

Marco Carmignan
REVERSE magazine
3 min readSep 7, 2018

--

Can the environment influence the performance of a dancer? How a dancer and a space can relate with each other?

The Stretching Roots are a dance company formed by six artists: Theresa, Amund, Maria, Raffioli, Fredrika and Benjamin. They are currently leading an artist residency in Aarhus.

The aim of the residency is to explore the relationship between dance and different environments.

Every morning they practice different movements in different spots.

But dance is not just a matter of swing the body to the rhythm of the music. It creates connections with space, ourselves and the other dancers.

On the left: Stretching Roots practice on the tilted roof in Godsbanen. On the right: Raffioli and Benjamin dance. They met at the Street Dance school in Sweden, except for Raffioli and Benjamin who met each other in Aarhus.

Theresa and Amund are the directors and plan — almost doing by doing — the best training for the group.

At first, there’s no music. Every place has its own sound and atmosphere and it’s important to dive into it, feel the vibe and get the mood.

A slow step. Then, another one. Shoes being dragged on the floor and circles being composed.

Like a painting, the artists shape their bodies drawing geometries, lines and figures.

On the left: Maria and Raffioli flow with the energy that the environment provides. On the right: Raffioli and Fredrika fell down on the ground.

“I feel a kind of energy. When I dance I get in flow with people. I’m totally dived in myself” Raffioli says.

Thus, what happens when the music is turned on? Well, it’s not easy to answer because there’re many influences. Either the dancers mood, the architecture of the environment or the weather could effect.

As consequence, the music gives the beat but every place with its features constantly changes the performance.

“Dance gave me the opportunity to explore myself and become a better person. When I dance I experience a sort of energy as well and I can bring that energy for many hours after the performance.” Fredrika says.

When I saw them I felt that kind of energy too, even though I wasn’t dancing. It was like rise and fall in the waves.

Credits: Photos and text by Marco Carmignan

--

--