Apple Watch-Series 3: Product Review:

Sara DiRezze
Reviews R Us
Published in
5 min readJun 27, 2019

The Apple Watch enables you to text, answer phone calls, track your heartbeat, count your steps, know the calories you’ve burned, change your music, tell time, see the weather, know what day it is, check your email, monitor your workouts and so much more… all from your wrist! It is with you wherever you go, just like any other watch! It is convient when at work or in places where you are unable to be holding your phone; you can just look down at your wrist and instantly read your incoming messages and emails! It also acts as a motivator to stay active and beat your fitness goals from the day or week before. To me, it is a great investment, lets take a deeper look…

→What does it do?!

  • tracks health
  • motivates fitness goals
  • lets you text from your wrist
  • allows you to recieve all app notifications directly to your watch (e-mail, snapchat, Facebook, etc)
  • tracks daily steps and calories burned
  • provides weather
  • allows you to answer voice calls from wrist

→Where to buy?!

The Apple Watch can be bought at many electronic stores such as Best Buy, The Source and of course the Apple Store.

PRICE:

I paid 420$ for my series 3 Apple Watch. I decided to buy this edition even though it is not the newest due to the price. The latest series, series 4, goes for $560..a drastic price difference, while there are not many differences between the two.

There are different versions of the apple watch, such as ones that are “cellular”. Meaning, you do not even need your phone near you to use it. For the Series 3, and all other series that are not cellular, your iPhone must be within a certain radius of your watch, typically as long as it is within the same building.

The “cellular” series require you to pay an additional fee on your phone plan, as you are basically using your watch solely as a phone. This fee varies on your cell phone provider, it can range around 10$ per month.

→Alternatives:

While there are many editions of apple watches, the biggest competitor to the apple watch is the FitBit. The FitBit also allows you to track health changes and receive texts and notifications. There is also a drastic price difference between the two, with the FitBit pricing around 100$.

→My Experience:

I LOVE my Apple Watch. Before purchasing, I spent time reading product reviews. Someone said the Apple Watch was “the best purchase of their life”. I thought this was an exaggeration. After purchasing mine and using it for 5 months now, I agree with this statemet.

Being an Apple user, it is easy to adjust to the Apple watch. It is easy to set up and learn how to use. The Apple watch is great because it enables me to stay connected to my health, physical activity, family and friends via my wrist. When I am at work and unable to be on my phone, I can easily see the text message I was waiting for pop up on my watch. I can read it quickly, without anyone knowing. I can also respond right from my watch.

Having an Apple Watch has motivated me in my fitness journey, and has encouraged me to push myself further each workout. It tracks the calories I burn and has a past history of all my past workouts, thus I am always willing to surpass the workout goals I hit the day before.

My Apple Watch! You can customize the watch so that your homepage is to your liking. Notice I chose purple font, since purple is my favourite colour! I also chose to have my text messages in the bottom left hand corner, right on the home screen, this way it is very easy to get to my texts! I chose my email to be in the bottom right corner for these same reasons. I have my activity rings in the centre of the bottom. These allow me to track my calories burned, exercise minutes, and standing/steps. I also have the weather available on my home page. If I click on that, it will show me the weather for the whole week! Very convienent. And of course, having the date and time visible on the home page is essential for any watch!

→PROS:

  • easy to use
  • so much to do on it
  • water-resistant
  • convienent
  • connects perfectly to your phone
  • enables you to do a bunch of things from your wrist
  • 24 hour access
  • can access phone apps as long as phone is in a certain radius

→CONS:

I truly am so pleased with this purchase, the only cons I could give this product is the price and battery life. I purposely avoided buying the newest edition in order to save money, and even then I feel like the 420$ I spend was too high of a price. The battery of the Apple Watch lasts for about a day and a half-two days on average. This is kind of frustrating as I typically wear it all day from the second I wake up to when I go to bed, so sometimes it is hard to find time to charge it. I usually shut it off at night, even though there is a feature to track sleep, I have decided to save my battery during the night by not using this feature. I usually charge it whenever I shower each day. It does charge very fast, and only takes about 20 minutes to fully charge, which is good, so I have just gotten into the routine of charging it everyday while I shower. This ensures that the battery rarely gets below 30% from my personal use and thus guarentees it will never die on me during the day.

→Recommendation:

I strongly recommend getting the series 3 Apple Watch. I am satisfied with all it does and feel like the cellular is not necessary and is a waste of extra money. I typically have my phone within the same building as me, so would have no need for the cellular feature. Although a lot of money, it is definitely worth it!

--

--