Black & Decker Cordless Drill Review

Stacey Conley
Reviews R Us
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2018

Black & Decker Cordless Drill or Screwdriver You Decide!

Model: Black+Decker LD120–2WM 20v Max Lithium Cordless Drill

Have you ever tried to install a mini blind or hardware for a simple window treatment and ended up spending an hour on what should have been a 10 minute job? I have! Three years ago I bought a home and was faced with a pretty hefty list of projects. I started to do little jobs with my standard toolbox mix of screwdrivers and after installing a few window treatments I thought there must be a better way! And there is! It is the Black+Decker Cordless Drill. There are many brands and models to pick from, but I was looking for some specific criteria.

My criteria

· Battery held a good charge

· Light weight

· At least 4 star rating

· Enough drill tips to handle different types of screws

· Reasonably priced

This drill met every point. The battery holds a charge for 18 months, it only weights 4.12 pounds, it’s rate 5 stars and cost me under $50!

Specifications:

  • Volts 20
  • Cordless
  • Chuck Size 3/8"
  • Chuck Type Keyless
  • Battery Type Lithium
  • Weight 4.12 lb
  • Model LD120–2WM
  • Assembled Dimensions (LxWxH) 15.00 x 4.63 x 10.50 inches

Pros

  • Small
  • Light Weight
  • Inexpensive

Cons

  • Not a powerful drill
  • Not meant for heavy duty use
  • Battery recharge time

Reviews

This drill made it to the top 5 best! It is one of the most economical ones on the list but as they put it “You get what you pay for”

Although the review says that the battery life is short lived, I have never had the battery run out for the projects I have done. I have used the drill, and bits to take out old hardware and install new hardware hours at a time and it hasn’t failed me yet. I have been using it for over two years now.

You can buy the drill at Walmart, Target, Home Depot, and Lowes. Walmart had the cheapest price when I bought mine. This model comes with a 2 Year limited warranty — Which I did not need to use. Walmart also offers an extended warranty for 100% of repair costs but I did not buy it. I did buy a 45 piece box of various size and shape drill bits for an additional $8 to be sure I had all the tools to finish the projects I was faced with.

There are a number of other Black + Decker models that are more expensive, weigh more, and some are more powerful but this model took care of all of my projects. It hTis described as a powerful tool that also turns into a sander, jigsaw, impact driver, router, trim saw, and oscillating tool if you choose to purchase the additional attachments. I haven’t bought any of these attachments yet but like having the option.

This YouTube video gives a nice overview of all that this drill can do and shows you another happy customer!

--

--