I Tried Henry’s Hard Sparkling Water And Was Pleasantly Surprised

Holly DeRusha
Reviews R Us
Published in
4 min readJun 29, 2019

I went grocery shopping yesterday to prepare for a beach weekend away with my mom. She told me to pick up whatever I wanted to drink for the hotel room so I went for my usual- hard seltzers.

I have a pretty sensitive stomach and I have always loved how light and low sugar most of the seltzers are on the market. I’ve tried a few different brands from Spiked Seltzers, (which comes in four flavors: cranberry, orange, lime, and grapefruit) Truly, (which comes in many flavors ranging from wild berry to rose) and my personal favorite White Claw (black cherry will change your life, trust me).

Various hard seltzer brands

A Decision Was Made

I was reaching for my usual Black Cherry White Claws when I saw a pack of a brand called Henry’s. I had never tried their seltzers before and was reluctant because their hard sodas had too much sugar for my liking. However, I noticed the label saying “zero sugars” and figured I could give them a try.

The package that I bought contains three flavors: Blueberry Lemonade, Lemon Lime, and Strawberry Kiwi. When I got home I figured I should test one out to make sure I liked them because, you know, at least it’s friday!

Henry’s Hard Sparkling Water

I decided to try the Strawberry Kiwi flavor and I was not disappointed! Strawberry flavored anything has always had a large piece of my heart so maybe I am slightly biased, but I have to say Henry sure knows his stuff.

While you might think that all seltzers taste the same (maybe after a few too many) this isn’t always the case.

Competition

The brand Truly, for example, probably scrapes the bottom of my barrel when it comes to preferred seltzers. They contain 100 calories and one gram of sugar per can which is not bad considering some other alcoholic beverages. However, I feel that the brand tries to compensate for their low sugar level with artificial sugars. The taste has always seemed a little off to me, meaning I can drink one or two but I probably wouldn’t buy a whole case of them. If artificial flavor is your thing though, you might “truly” be a fan!

Your reaction to my 2/10 pun

Another problem I’ve run into with other hard seltzer brands, Smirnoff to be specific, would have to be the carbonation level. I mean, yeah, it’s a seltzer so I know it is supposed to be a bit bubbly. But when I take a swig of my drink and suddenly my throat feels the way that the TV looked in 1998 when the cable went out, then I might need to take a second to redeem myself.

However, Henry’s hard seltzers seem to check out on both sugar level/taste and carbonation. As I said before, there are zero sugars in each can and only 88 calories. The taste is sweet but not over powering nor artificial and the carbonation is is totally chuggable (not recommended).

What happens when you chug (1) hard seltzer

Prices, Pros, And Cons

I bought a 12 pack of 12oz seltzers from Market Basket which came out to 11.99, however the price could vary across different retailers. The con to hard seltzers in general would be that you could buy a pretty cheap bottle of vodka and plain seltzer for around the same price and mix them together. It would be a bit stronger, last a bit longer, and create less waste.

The pro to buying Henry’s though would have to be the ease of having it all made for you and ready to go! It’s the perfect drink to bring along with you to a function or vacation. Just toss in the cooler and go!

Final Word

All in all, everybody has different tastes and preferences when it comes to their alcoholic beverages. For those of you (myself included) who like a light and refreshing drink, I highly recommend Henry’s hard sparkling water!

*Alcohol purchase and consumption is permitted for those aged 21+*

*Please drink responsibly!*

Me With Henry, 2019

--

--