My Thoughts: The Keurig K200

Kaylee Townsend
Reviews R Us
Published in
4 min readJun 29, 2019

When I was young, I would always wake up for school in the morning and smell the amazing aroma of coffee brewed fresh by my father. He would always bring my mother her coffee in bed, and she used to tell me that was one of the reasons why she loved him so much. Coffee bonds us, motivates us, and allows us to carry through our day without falling asleep at our desks.

Growing up, our house always had a typical “old fashion” style coffee pot, one that would brew about 4 cups at a time. When I came to college and wanted to bring the experience of coffee with me, but knew that an entire coffee pot was not practical, I began to shop for a single pot coffee maker… A Keurig.

At the time I bought my Keurig, my future roommate and I were dorm shopping together at target. We had saved our money and were finally purchasing what we had been saving on our Pintrest boards for months- years even. Together, we picked out the Keurig K200, in a light teal color, and we each payed half. After using this coffee machine consistently for the past 2 years, I think that I can confidently give a true and honest review about this machine.

The Product

The Keurig K200 can be purchased on Amazon Prime for $115. Although the color I have is discontinued, there are 8 color options that are suited to match any kitchen. This specific model has a touch-screen front that allows you to change the amount of the coffee brewed (4oz, 6oz, 8oz, 10oz) and adjust strength. Water is held in the back of the machine and heated by the device. No batteries are required, but the machine does plug into an outlet.

Purchase Options

Keurig.com as well as many sellers such as Amazon and Target have many different styles similar to this one. The reason I bought this style specifically was because Target was having a sale for 20% off this specific model. Other options that Keurig provides include a smaller profile for easy storage, a larger water basin, and buttons instead of touch-screen. Keurig.com offers 29 different types of brewers with a price range from $69.99 to $249.99. There is sure to be a type of brewer from Keurig to fit your needs!

If you would still like a personal brewer but can’t afford the pricetag of the name brand Keurig, there are other options! Below are some great alternatives to a Keurig brewer.

  1. CHULUX Single Serve Coffee Maker Brewer. $39.99

2. Hamilton Beach 2-way Brewer Coffee Maker: Single-Serve with 12 Cup Carafe, Stainless Steel. $54.99

Hands-On Experience

Having this amazing machine for the past 2 years has really allowed me to be in a position where I can give a fair, real, review. For starters, the fact that it runs just as well today as it has since the first time I used it is amazing. A lot of cheap coffee makers burn out in a few months if used every day, which I definitley do. This brewer has held up incredibly well and I look forward to using it for another 2 years!

Not only is this a reliable machine, it also used to bring so much color and life into my dorm, and now it does the same for my apartment. Everyone who walks in always notices the bright seafoam green color and compliments its asthetic.

Pros of The K200

  1. Durability
  2. Easy to use
  3. Beautiful
  4. Price (I got mine on sale!)
  5. Replacement Services & warrantee
  6. Heats very quickly!
  7. Easy to clean

Cons of The K200

  1. Does not brew pods that are not K-cups
  2. Only brews up to 10oz
  3. K-cups can be expensive to buy!

Overall Recommendation

Considering the product, its pros and cons, price, experience, and alternatives, I DO recommend this product! I actually have very many times to friends and family. I love this K200 so much that I even asked my mother to purchase one to have for when I go home!

I truly use this machine every day- and for more than just coffee. Simply put in some water, and brew without a K-cup, and have hot water in an instant for your cup of noodles or tea bag. There is no doubt that $115 is a little bit expensive for coffee, if you add up your Starbucks recipets for a month, you might even be saving money! Go get yourself a K200!

--

--