Product Review: iPhone Glass Screen Protector

Nicole Walls
Reviews R Us
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2018

I am reviewing a glass screen protector that I purchased and had for about 6 months.

  • Glass Screen Protector; Many different companies make them. I will focus specifically on the one I purchased from Zagg in the mall.
  • It was specifically for the iPhone 6. They make them for basically all smartphones. The idea is that if you drop your phone that screen will crack instead of your phone screen and protect it generally from everything else.
  • I purchased one from Zagg for 15 dollars. If you look on amazon they range in price from around 5 dollars to 30 dollars. There are other screen protectors out there that aren’t made of glass around the same amount of money. They tend to be cheaper than the glass ones.
  • Hands-on experience as user; From my experience, I bought it once and wasn’t thrilled. The 3rd time I dropped my phone my screen cracked under the protector. So it didn’t protect my screen from the break. There was also a case on it so, they both failed in that aspect.
  • I am attaching photos of what it would look like when you buy it as I took mine off when getting my phone fixed and didn’t put a new one on after. I am also attaching a photo of what it looks like after you take it completely off to show how it shatters the rest of the way through.
The screen protector I bought.
What it would look like going onto your phone.
What it looked like when I took it off my phone
  • Pros: It looks good, It’s fairly sturdy, It’s fairly cheap for what you’re buying, When buying at a store they usually offer installation for free. Cons: It doesn’t always work, If it cracks or breaks it’s pretty useless, If you take it off it will shatter the rest of the way.
  • Overall, I don’t recommend the glass. Save the money and just get a regular screen protector. At least that way it still protects from small scratches and you aren’t left feeling like you got a junk product.

--

--