Casey’s Reviews

A Visit to a Miniature Wonderland

The world’s largest model train set

Dr. Casey Lawrence
Reviewsday Tuesday
Published in
5 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Photo taken by the author, 2023: Miniature Italy

This week I had the opportunity to spend a few days in Hamburg, Germany, and one of the recommended “must see” attractions that seemed to be at the top of every tourist guide was Miniatur Wunderland, a museum (of sorts) containing the world’s largest model train set.

Now, I’m not a huge model train enthusiast. In fact, I know almost nothing about miniatures, other than some experience painting doll furniture and playing with Polly Pockets in the 90s. But I thought the preview looked cool, so I set aside time to visit while I was in town.

The attraction is hugely popular, with a leaderboard in the lobby stating that they’ve had 20 million visitors, including tourists from almost every country (although zero from Mars, I’m afraid). We didn’t make a reservation and so were put in a waiting room with an estimated time of an hour. We only ended up having to wait about thirty minutes, there was free refreshments (pop, juice, coffee), and honestly even an hour’s wait was…

--

--

Dr. Casey Lawrence
Reviewsday Tuesday

Canadian author of three LGBT YA novels. PhD from Trinity College Dublin. Check out my lists for stories by genre/type.