The Horror Movie I Always Recommend: “Ginger Snaps”

A review of the 2000 horror film

J. S. Wong
Reviewsday Tuesday

--

Photo of the DVD cover for “Ginger Snaps,” taken by the author

If there’s one horror movie I always recommend, it’s Ginger Snaps. I first discovered the Canadian cult hit when I was watching the TV series Hannibal in 2014. Upon reading an interview about the show and the appearance of “scream queen” Katharine Isabelle, the article mentioned her standout performance in Ginger Snaps.

I can’t say I’m a huge fan of werewolves and haven’t sought out other movies about them, so I was hesitant at first. And I was skeptical about the cheesy title, triggering assumptions of other mediocre horror movies. However, Ginger Snaps surprised me with a dark and heartfelt story about two outcast sisters. After my first viewing, I was hooked and bought a collector’s edition copy.

Written by Karen Walton and directed by John Fawcett, Ginger Snaps had modest success in theaters when it was released in 2000. However, it’s gained a cult following and inspired two sequels Ginger Snaps 2: Unleashed and Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning — both released in 2004. However, like most movie series, the first film is the one to watch.

Plot Summary

The Fitzgerald sisters, Ginger (Katharine Isabelle) and Brigitte (Emily Perkins), are teenage outcasts obsessed with death, living in the…

--

--

J. S. Wong
Reviewsday Tuesday

Top Writer (x3) in Reading, Books, and Fiction. Follow me if you like to read articles on writing, books, and reading! https://jswwongwriter.wordpress.com/