[ tv show review ] Normal People

Margherita Reads
Reviewsday Tuesday
Published in
2 min readJul 11, 2023

--

release date: 26 April 2020

number of episodes: 12

total runtime: 5h 39m

genre: drama, romance

original language: English

MY RATING: 2 stars

REVIEW:

beware of spoilers

It started really good with the first two episodes and then went downhill very quickly. It soon became boring and painfully repetitive. It included a lot of important topics that were, however, not dealt with enough care and attention in my opinion.

I honestly just kept watching because I wanted to know if we’d ever end up finding out what Connell’s deal was. I get that Marianne feels worthless and I don’t blame her. She’s had a total of like 6 abusive/toxic men in her life and some of them were part of her family, too, so her trauma is understandable and clear. But while we later see Connell get depressed about the death of his friend and we hear him say he feels like an outsider all the time, we don’t really get an explanation about his behavior in earlier episodes, and especially why he keeps pulling back anytime things seem to be good with Marianne.

I have a feeling all of these things are explained thoroughly in the book and they were just not shown as well in this new format, and I actually did want to try out reading the book to check out the differences for myself, but to be honest, as I kept watching, this series just killed my curiosity and enthusiasm to read the original story.

I truly don’t get why communication is so hard for straight people.

I have to give it to them though, the acting was amazing.

― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ― ❀ ―

Check out my review policy here.

Check out the GoFundMe to help my uncle with his flooded house!

Follow me on social media: instagram | twitter | tiktok

You can also read my reviews on: goodreads | thestorygraph

You can support me on Ko-Fi.

--

--

Margherita Reads
Reviewsday Tuesday

Pan ace and nonbinary 🏳️‍⚧️🏳️‍🌈 Italian reader and indie author 🇮🇹 7.8k followers on tiktok | 4.3k followers on instagram