1 Year Anniversary and Gamification Update!

Pav Sidhu
Revisify
Published in
3 min readSep 21, 2016
Brand new homepage!

It’s strange to think Revisify was released to the world a year ago yesterday. Revisify started out as a way for me to prepare for my GCSE exams. I decided to release this tool to students who, like me, struggle to retain information and feel well prepared for exams. It’s been an exciting first year with thousands of students signing up to improve their education and achieve their career goals.

I did plan on releasing a new update yesterday to coincide with our 1 year anniversary but I decided to wait until today so that I can fix some bugs. This update focuses more on improving user motivation. Here are some of the new features:

Weekly Goal

Weekly goal on homepage

Now you can set yourself a topic target for the week! On the home page, you can choose the number of topics you will realistically like to learn per week. Once you get 90% or higher in any topic, you become 1 step closer to achieving your weekly goal.

I chose a weekly goal over a daily goal since learning a topic requires long-term studying. Not only that, but I understand that we have days where we don’t have the chance to study at all and days where we study like crazy!

Study Streak

Study streak on homepage

While we now have a weekly goal to track our long-term progress, your study streak counts the number of days you study in a row. If you miss one day, you study streak returns back to zero… You can see your study streak on the home page.

Subject Progress

When I studying for my exams this year, I wanted to be able to see at a glance what topics I was confident in and what topics I needed to still work on. As a result, subject and topic icons now show progress bars around them to indicate how well you know a topic.

The Future

Now that Revisify is maturing as a study website, my attention will be on developing the Revisify iOS app so that we can have it available to students before May/April next year in time for the summer exams. If you have any ideas or suggestions for our app, send us an email.

Follow Revisify on our Facebook, Twitter or Instagram for study tips, motivation and news. Send us a message there to let us know your thoughts on today’s update!

--

--

Pav Sidhu
Revisify

👋🏼 I'm a developer, designer and Computer Science student.