Revisify Summer Update

New Update To Revisify

Pav Sidhu
Revisify
2 min readAug 2, 2016

--

The update released today focuses mostly on removing all known bugs and issues to ensure students have a flawless experience when studying. I fixed problems such as accidentally reloading the page during a test and some keyboard shortcuts not doing their correct actions in the topics editor.

While most of the update contains small or unnoticeable changes, the biggest change comes down the change in our URL structure. There was an issue where if students were to change the name of their subjects or topics, the URL would also be changed. For example if a user’s subject ‘Science’ was renamed to ‘Chemistry’ then the URL would change from revisify.com/3404/science to revisify.com/3404/chemistry. This lead to confusion with other students not being able to find that subject. I have updated URLs so now they contain unique IDs, meaning that even if the subject or topic name changes, the ID will remain the same so the same subject or topic will be found. For now, the old URLs will redirect to the new ones, however they will be completely removed on the 1st November 2016.

My Plan For Summer

Over the next couple months I will focus on further improving the user experience in 3 key areas.

First of all I want to increase the simplicity of our service. By refining the study process, I want Revisify to be straightforward to use. I only want to add features that improve the experience and give value to students.

The second area of focus will be to improve user motivation. As a student myself, I understand preparing for exams can be difficult so I want to make studying easier in terms of enjoyability and drive to study. While Revisify does a great job at this, I want to push it further. I have several ideas lined up and I’m expecting them to be available to students by the time school starts again in September (in the UK).

The last area is to improve the accessibility of Revisify. While Revisify is available through any web browser, I understand that this solution isn’t perfect for mobile devices. As a result, I’m excited to announce that I’m in the very early stages of developing an app for Apple devices. While there isn’t much I can discuss right now, I’ll be posting on the blog about any news in terms of the app.

I cannot wait to see how Revisify revolutionises the way students study over the next several months. Since exams have finished for me, I’ll once again be active on Twitter and on our blog if you would like to be notified of our upcoming developments.

--

--

Pav Sidhu
Revisify

👋🏼 I'm a developer, designer and Computer Science student.