A Baby ARMY’s First Step Into Festa.

Tangerine
RevolutionMagazine
Published in
4 min readJun 25, 2021

--

어서와, 페스타에 처음이지?

“Welcome, is this your first time at Festa?” was the text I got from my cousin (who dm-ed me the Black Swan Art Film last August) alongside a link to the 2021 Festa Calendar. I remember it being the day after I tested negative for COVID after a month-long illness and I couldn’t have asked for a better pick me up.

With my planner ready for both Pride and Festa, I strapped in for the rollercoaster of a month coming my way. 3 weeks ago, I was sure I couldn’t love BTS & ARMY more than I already do, but here’s a secret, the past me was an idiot. I cried, I laughed, did the Koya jaw drop more times than I can count and redefined the limits of how much I can love.

My pre-Festa prep began with catching up to the 7 years’ worth of Festa Contents. From smiling till my jaw hurts during the lovely versions of their choreographies to being reduced to the ‘I can’t language’ state during the cool versions, I probably had more expressions on my face in these past 15 days than in my whole lifetime. If it weren’t for translator ARMYs who provided us with the subs almost instantaneously I might have missed them being their dorky selves in the BTS and ARMY profiles. Even when they’re being goofballs their love for ARMY and their team shines through and I feel blessed to have the chance to experience that. From my limited experience the BTS-ARMY dynamic feels like a constant banter of I love you-s and I love you more-s.

Rainbow looks quite beautiful, don’t you think? Credits: @bts_bighit on Twitter

When Bicycle dropped, I got another text from my cousin celebrating a drive-song for peeps like us that don’t have a license. On giving it a listen I felt nostalgic, and sources say this writer might have bawled her eyes out during the last verse. I can’t wait for a time when I can get back on my bike and film my own music video to the song when the pandemic ends. With less than 9 months of preparation, I scored a 52 on the exam but that’s okay because BTS said to not pay attention to the scores.

The room where they recorded their first Kkul FM 613 being the same size as the table in the ARMY Corner Store, might have made me cry, but also cemented my belief that sincerity towards your art and belief in yourself takes you places no one dared to dream about. For years, they’ve spoken their dreams into existence be it 2014, when Hobi wanted to have their own concert(Red Bullet Tour) or Yoongi manifesting a Billboard hot 100 #1 for 3 weeks in 2021.

The apex of the Festa for me was their live performances. My singing lessons came in handy when I had an impromptu sing along to the BTS Room Live in my room and despite not being there in person, I had a blast alongside fellow ARMYs on Twitter during the Muster live. There was a moment when my housemates looked at me all concerned when I shouted, “Yes, TaeTae do your little boogie dance” or told them, “the stylists must get a raise” but they learned to ignore me after the first 30 minutes of it. As I’m writing this article my ARMY-mom(literally my cousin) is on the phone to remind me to thank her for making me go through their entire discography at the beginning of my ARMY journey because I could notice that Joon changed the lyrics for Move.

picture credits: @kimseokjingifs on Twitter

Growing up in a home where having a conversation would ensure a verbal lashing about wasting time; they’ve given me a community where healthy- conversation is promoted. Living in a society where everything you do is scrutinized, more so if you don’t conform to its norms, Jin’s sprout hair, Jimin and JK’s unabashed self-expression give me confidence in being myself. In the nine months that I’ve known them for I identify them as my refuge, my anchor and my northern stars. They’ve got me and I’ve got them. At the end of this two-week period my phone needs an external memory card and I’m shining a bit brighter, dreaming a bit higher and smiling a lot merrier. And well as ARMY say, I’m now in this Bangtan Sonyeondan sh*t for life.

--

--