Image from Kevin Jones

GOD OF WHEAT

E. OBrien
REVOLVER READER

--

I slattern bramble and wood and moss and amber and sap and milk and buck every frond and arching stem.

I am god and spokey like wheels on a ribbon hung from a neck of sky.

I am the light of florets ignited, my saffron hunger boils at the heart of every spat, each spike of lightning.

I stain the moon, white with flour, and when I laugh dry spikelets click in my chest where I have no ribs.

I shiv like a mandolin through bone and fissure, belting songs like wheat spumes on wind.

I am fisted handfuls of flag leaves and twelve points of whimsy.

I am smatter of rain in the morning and under-bridge goblins are my dearest disciples.

I grit teeth when I sleep and twittering birds cloy over me, collapsing on wind like prayers and dollar bills on my eyelids.

I am bitter brew torching veiny gullies, leaving glassine pools of spit in my wake.

Sprung, I take shape.

I cut myself from the ground for it is a dwindling thing and I suffer no keepers.

--

--