Image by code poet.

Home

Chris Martin
REVOLVER READER

--

Now that I live in the land of the mound

effigies I figure

it’s time to take the leavings

of my heart and make

a buffalo. Swollen

shuffling Goliath. Matted

russet buffalo pustule. Shag

swarm. A buffalo so

utterly

distended it could only

be pregnant with history.

We put on our hats and take out our knives

and carve the party into fist-sized cubes

of dead red history cake.

Cursive leather frosting that reads

don’t come around here

no more. I say

it over and over. I don’t

like strangers like

me. I’ve eaten way

too much party mound

and I think I’m going to be rich.

I get blind and spin with a dissevered animal

tail in the stickled clutch of my palm

until I’m just

rich as fuck and filled

with an unkind wind.

Still, I piss straight

into it and always under

a stranger’s stars.

Piss and whistle. Don’t come

around here no more. The stars

are so cold

my teeth could

up and shatter. I gather

white dust in my

wallet. I swirl

my teeth in the vacuum

of the sky’s unbuyable

until I’m smiling

the Milky Way. I look up

and see the footprint moon

thieving and tiptoeing

through my grin. I can only

stomp and whinny and

in the morning

I eat cigarette apples

and cough the sun black.

--

--

Chris Martin
REVOLVER READER

Author of May Tomorrow Be Awake: On Poetry, Autism, and Our Neurodiverse Future. Connective Hub at Unrestricted Interest. Editor of Multiverse.