detail from Ink Babel by Andrea Carlson

These are My Pearls, This is My Swine

Heid E. Erdrich
REVOLVER READER
Published in
1 min readOct 5, 2015

--

Pale soap bubble accreted around grit.

Irritation gone iridescent, gone global.

These are my pearls, this is my swine.

Unleash the tuxedo pigs, attired so fine.

Let boars fork these pearls like truffles

tusked from prairie sand.

These are my pearls, this is my swine.

These my words, my copper mine.

Like the base who threw away

the worth of all his tribe,

wealth we sign away line by line.

These are my pearls, this is my swine.

Dress me in the blood shawl, drape the shells,

in a graduated rope around my neck.

Tell them it is time. Open the door,

invite the oil-rich and velvet-dressed swine.

These are my pearls. I have made them mine.

--

--