Source: personal archive

Daydreaming is hiding unprocessed trauma

Do you remember the moments in your childhood when you’d just sit somewhere and stare at the world daydreaming?

Irina Damascan
Rewire Institute
Published in
7 min readOct 9, 2019

--

I am not sure if everybody did that as much as I did, but I thought that was one of my best times to spend time by myself. I grew up with some communication struggles. I was stuttering after the age of 3 when I got electrocuted by accident while playing with my dad’s „toys” who was supposed to watch me while he was fixing some electronics in the house. He’s an engineer and was always more introverted so he never really knew how to handle a baby and play other than keeping me by his side when he was doing something interesting. So I developed curiosity for geeky stuff and my „play” was with electronics. That’s how I got electrocuted. Because of the shock, I started having difficulty talking. I went to a speech-language therapist for about 7 years before I could get rid of this handicap. I was bullied in school. So my logopedician taught me to start planning my words and my ideas by taking the time way ahead from forming the words to release them on my mouth. He taught me that to stop the stuttering I need to give time for the words to come out. My brain has been hyperactive ever since this electrical shock ( because that’s the earliest memory I have of myself). Being hyperactive, I have a lot…

--

--

Irina Damascan
Rewire Institute

Experience and service designer passionate about psychology and behavioral change. Writing mostly on matters of the heart as a way to form user centric methods.