Drunken Sailor

A Poem

Jon Coleman
Rhyme Zone
2 min readNov 21, 2019

--

Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

There was a man
Who had three sons.
And boy those sons knew how
to have some fun!

There was a father
who had a dream.
The wettest month
there had ever been.

What was That?
You look so sad?
I don’t know son,
but it looks real bad.

There was a dreamer
who heard a Voice.
“Drown, or make a boat”
He made the choice
to keep afloat.

There was a chooser,
who began to build.
To hammer and saw,
with timber milled.

Photo by Milind Kaduskar on Unsplash

There was a builder
who built a ship.
It stood ready and tall,
to embark on a trip.

There was a sailor,
who watched the skies.
Gathered his herds,
and ignored the cries.

There was a friend,
who closed the door.
He ignored his friends,
and left the shore.

There was a man,
who lost his way.
he had no map,
his vision gray.

There was a wreck,
who came aground.
His ship was beached,
A new home found.

There was a farmer,
who planted some crops.
Sowed some barley,
and also hops.

There was a drinker,
His sobriety lost.
His friends were dead,
So he got real sloshed.

Photo by Ben Hershey on Unsplash

He’d heard the Voice,
Ignored his fears!
Now he was hollow,
shedding drunken tears.

I heard that story,
In times gone past.
Of Noah and his boat,
and he built it fast.

And on this example, I reflect:
Here was a great man,
Who still got wreck’d.

And I wonder, as I think
How I do big things,
and am prone to drink.
Is it a warning I see
that man, that man is me?

--

--