I am the wind

Simran Ahluwalia
Rhyme Zone
Published in
1 min readJul 6, 2020
Image by Comfreak from Pixabay

A perfect rainy Delhi morning

After months of sweltering heat

I caught myself floating

A little here, a little there — to the beat.

I am the breeze

In your life of humid and sweltering heat

I transcend your souls with willful and trying ease

Often with no caveat.

For I can metamorphosize myself into the wind

Soothe heads and hearts of kind and unkind humanity,

But you give me dust and I, not knowing when to rescind

Pollute myself with all your gifted depravity.

However, unlike your unthinking, unfeeling callousness

The wind stops to ponder

It wants to soothe even the bitterness

Without sacrificing itself in the plunder.

Don’t you forget that I am the willful wind

I am the breeze, I am the storm

You cannot have me pinned

down for long, for I can transform

And lest you mend your unkind ways, transform I will,

For I would not let you be my mortal peril.

--

--