The Greatest Teacher

Lessons from the Classroom of Pain — A Poem

Dan Foster
Rhyme Zone
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2019

--

I’ve listened to many a preacher, you know
But pain was my greatest teacher, you know
It has this remarkable feature, you know;
To undo the ego’s delusion
You can live your life and kid yourself
’Cause you lack the power to rid yourself
Of your pride, so you choose to forbid yourself
To confront the sordid illusion.

As men we often allow ourselves
To ignore our pain and endow ourselves
With plaudits and praise, and avow ourselves
Will be assailed by naught,
But living consequentially
Delivers pain eventually
And into its class providentially
Pain teaches us as it ought.

To not climb out of my cot, I learned
Nor touch the stove when it’s hot, I learned
To reapply sunscreen a lot, I learned
When I was just a boy
To hit the nail on the head, first time
To choose the right path to tread, first time
And choose the right woman to wed, first time
And while it lasts, enjoy.

--

--

Dan Foster
Rhyme Zone

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter