How to Tell Your Boss About Your Mental Health Condition

Rhys Knight
rhysknightblog
Published in
2 min readApr 5, 2018

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

So you’ve been diagnosed with a mental health condition.

Congratulations!

If you’re anything like me, the initial emotional reaction would have been one of relief; “thank fuck feeling like this isn’t normal and there are drugs and stuff.” But that feeling quickly subsides when you realise not everyone in the world is as supportive as television commercials for mental health awareness charities would have you believe.

Like that friend who keeps asking questions in an overly cautious way like you might start stabbing at any moment.

And that former colleague who, “doesn’t believe in depression.”

So, how do you approach your boss and explained that you are suffering from a mental health issue? Here are three methods that you may find useful.

1. Don’t…Just Don’t

This is especially good advice if your boss is (and this is a technical term) a bit of a dick.
What goes on in your head is none of your manager’s business, and unless it’s going to directly impact your work — psychiatry appointments, randomly yelling at colleagues et cetera — then it may be best to keep it to yourself. As discussed, not everyone is as forward-thinking as they should be.

2. Really Fucking Gently

If you decide your boss must know, then practice the following phrase,
“At the moment, I am experiencing what my psychiatrist has termed (insert your flavour of illness here), but I am receiving excellent support and am working through it. I just wanted to make you aware.”
Your boss will likely respond with,
“Thank you for telling me. Let me know if there’s anything I can do.”
This may translate to, “I hired a mental case. I’ll be Googling ‘how to fire lunatics’ as soon as I get back to my desk.”

3. With a Big Helping of Drama

This approach can work brilliantly if your boss sees themselves as something of a mother or father figure. In preparation, watch several daytime soap operas, and just before you enter the meeting think about your favourite pet, and how it died. As the tears begin to roll down your face, begin your Oscar-winning performance,
“I…I don’t know how to say this, but I have (insert a dramatic pause to build suspense; what could it be? The Plague? Polio?)…depression.”
“My goodness,” says your boss. “What can I do to support you?”
“You’re already doing it.”
Embrace.

Everyone’s experience of mental illness is different and before you choose to tell anyone, consider the implications. They could be far more significant than you think.

--

--