Kaleidoscope

Colours and dreams

KateElizabeth
Rhythm & Rhyme
1 min readJan 24, 2023

--

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood on Pexels

A kaleidoscope of colours,
That is what I can see,
Looking through the looking glass
That was made just for me.

My grandad built it in his shed,
He knew just what I’d like.
I preferred that for my birthday
Than some new clothes or a bike.

I saw one first at SciTech
On our annual school trip
Though it’s really old technology -
It doesn’t even have a chip.

But I was sold from the word go,
I loved that little tool,
And now I have one of my own —
My grandad is so cool!

The colours are just fascinating,
I love the way they change
When you turn it round and round;
I don’t care people think I’m strange!

The different patterns that it makes,
Designs and shapes that move.
I could sit here all day long,
Quite happily in my groove.

When was the last time (do you know?),
That you have got the chance,
To look through a kaleidoscope
And end up in a trance?

I highly recommend it,
It’s really quite relaxing,
And when you’re trapped in that dreamy state
You won’t notice time elapsing.

--

--

KateElizabeth
Rhythm & Rhyme

I like to experiment with different forms of poetry, as well as some flash fiction.