Remorse of a Scattered Mind

An ode to the dead

Akhil Shylaja Sasidharan
Rhythmic Expressions
1 min readAug 29, 2021

--

An artwork by Bhadra M

I saw a dead ant under my feet,
she is now nil and laid there still,
like she was crushed to death.
That moment made me wonder,
Did I crush her?
my scattered mind pondered,
as I am haunted and dreaded.
But then I saw other ants,
coming around her to grieve.
Her demise was news,
as they spread it like wildfire.
But little did they bother,
as her end was just another.
But it is me who started to suffer,
as I stood without having an answer.
There was no dearth of guilt,
as I started to repent.
Then I asked again this question.
Did I kill her on purpose?
No, never! I shouted.
So why am I so hurt?
So why am I here to lament?
Then I found the answer beneath,
I loved her to the zenith!

--

--

Akhil Shylaja Sasidharan
Rhythmic Expressions

‘A lawyer who has a penchant for dreaming.’ Instagram: @akhilshylajasasidharan Twitter: @akhilshylaja Email: advakhilsasidharan@gmail.com