Impossible VS Challenging

Words are powerful. They really are.

Ricardo Fabila
Ricardo Fabila´s Blog (Unedited)

--

The words we use to describe ourselves and the situations sound us will greatly affect not only the way we perceive the world, but also the way we think and, most importantly, the way we act.

This is one if the main principles in NLP (Neuro-Linguistics Programing), which (greatly summarized) is the discipline that studies the relationship between the words we use and our mind.

I have been student and practicing NLP for almost two years now, and I have used and developed my own practices to enhance my objective behavior and thus the quality of my life.

One of my favorite concepts that I like to teach is how you should never use the word Impossible to describe a situation or a goal of yours. Never.

I always tell people to use the word CHALLENGING instead.

Why?

The word impossible means that something just can’t be done, since it is literally not possible.

Using this word shuts down your mind in ways that it will sabotage itself in order to fail at what you are trying to accomplish. And the sad part is that this will happen outside of your awareness; it will go under the radar and directly to your subconscious.

But when you use the word challenging, you mind will start to look out for possibilities — for opportunities.

Challenges are opportunities to grow. To learn.

So next time you find yourself describing a situation in your life or a goal that you have, use they word challenging whenever you want to use the word impossible.

I know that this sound far too simple and it maybe even sounds like something you would read on any self-help book/blog out here. But I can guarantee that this little shift of focus will have a radical impact on your life.

It is a complete life changer.

Try it and let me know what you think.

Peace,
Ricardo Fabila

--

--

Ricardo Fabila
Ricardo Fabila´s Blog (Unedited)

GAME ENTHUSIAST. WRITER. MEDITATOR. ENTREPRENEUR. COLLECTOR OF QUOTES. I write about the things I am passionate about or that interest me. @Ricardo_Fabila