The New 21st Century Democracy — An Introduction

Ricardo NL Goncalves
Rick’s Open Source Ideas
2 min readNov 8, 2020
Greece’s Democracy

I’ve often thought about this theme, but I have never wrote about it. This time, I’ll be trying to offer some new perspectives that we should add to the system most of us tend to be living under.

(NOTE: the word “tend” above tends to say that we’re increasingly trying to live in a democracy anywhere in the world.)

This article is part of a series of articles, which are going to bring new ideas into Democracy, in this 21st century. These ideas will not reformulate Democracy in its essence, but I believe it needs some add-ons…

And why should we add anything to it?

Well… Is it just me or voting every 2 to 4 years, with a cross inside a square which is tossed into a black box feels like… Too little? Too ineffective? Too boring?

I mean…

Let’s summarize the things we have/face currently:

  • Airplanes and vaccines
  • Rigorous nutricional plans and serious medical advancements
  • We’re trying to “solve” climate change
  • We’re thinking of building a settlement on Mars and on the Moon
  • There’s a spaceship orbiting around the Earth for scientific purposes
  • etc.

Yet… We still live in a “Democracy of the Past”, where huge governmental structures live side by side with elected politicians we barely know, which have a long mandate in which they [sadly] often do things which are contrary to the contract we signed with them, through our X inside a square on that paper we toss into a black box. Nothing against it (at all, it’s the best system we’ve tried so far), but… Can’t we do any better?

I believe we can indeed do better…

Maybe we still haven’t all the needed tecnhological breakthroughs, but we’re headed on the right direction here (for example: blockchain, cryptography, real-time processing, broad band internet, etc.). Also, let’s not wait for them to build new concepts, right? This way, we’ll be ready when they show up!

Besides, often some ideas flow through my mind, so I’ll try to summarize and dissert on some of them. If you have something to add, feel free to do so and stay tunned.

I think this is going to be tons of fun!

--

--

Ricardo NL Goncalves
Rick’s Open Source Ideas

I don’t have the time/resources to implement all my ideas, so I open-sourced some of them. Use them wisely.