Asante Samuel Had Awkward ESPN Interview On Jason Collins

Alex B.
Ride The Pine
Published in
1 min readMay 2, 2013

Well this is uncomfortable. Atlanta Falcons defensive back Asante Samuel was live in Bristol for an in-studio interview with Chris McKendry during the live 11am SportsCenter.

The conversation turned to Samuel’s recent comments about Jason Collins announcement to the world that he was gay. This is what Samuel had to say in an interview with Fox Sports radio:

“Straight people are not announcing they’re straight, so why does everybody have to announce their sexuality or whatever? You know, what they prefer. So that’s just how I see it, that’s my opinion on things. All respect you know, I have nothing but respect for the people whoever decisions they make and whatever, but you know, you don’t have to show it and flaunt it like that. You know what I’m saying, we have kids out here, too.”

McKendry asked for Samuel to expound on the comments, which is when things turned awkward.

McKendry: “What did you mean that ‘we have kids out here’”

Samuel: “I don’t want to teach my kids those things. I teach my kid God, you know, how God lives his life.”

Samuel continued to respond to questions on how he would react to a gay teammate. When the conversation turned to how the NFL would handle a openly gay player, Samuel said that he could help handle the situation if he was paid to do so. When pushed harder by McKendry, he delivered this gem:

“They gotta get the check first. Like that?!” [smile]

TV magic.

--

--