Ed Hochuli [and his Biceps] on the Cover of Sports Illustrated

Alex B.
Ride The Pine
Published in
1 min readOct 3, 2012
Ed Hochuli is on the cover of Sports Illustrated

I don’t know if there has ever been a time when a NFL Referre was the featured cover person in Sports Illustrated but 61-year old Ed Hochuli has earned that honor in October 8th, 2012 edition of the sports magazine.

How do I get my hands on a Hochuli jersey because I need one. We talked about Hochuli’s biceps in a recent episode of the video edition of Ride The Pine.

Hochuli talked to SI.com about the most common question he receives:

Strangers always ask Hochuli how much he can bench and he always gives the same answer: “I don’t know.”

Gesturing to a bench press, he said, “I don’t know how much I can lift because if I can’t lift it six times, I’ll reduce the weight. I don’t want to lift 300 pounds. At my age, my joints just can’t take it.” After a brief interval of introspection, he said: “The real reason I don’t know is I don’t want to know how weak I am.”

There might not be anyone in football that I love more than Big Ed.

--

--