MLB DFS for April 16th, 2016

Alex B.
Ride The Pine
Published in
2 min readApr 16, 2016

Here is a nice little life lesson. When you think you’re awesome, the Daily Fantasy Gods will tell you to shut-the-fuck-up.

Well, all my awesomeness equalled diddly-poo in a big $33 entry-fee tournament last night. In my defense, I did nail some of those picks like Edwin Incarnation big night.

Anyway, time to get back to business. In the face of Karma, I will tell you that tonight I’m giving it my best effort and I’m just happy to be playing MLB DFS.

On to the picks…(If you get my Meme, I’m giving you an internet hug because I love you.)

Pitchers
Tom Koehler vs Atlanta Braves

The Braves finally got their first win of the season last night but don’t be confused. They suck. Koehler had 6 strikeouts in his first outing of the season against the Washington Nationals, who might be the best team in baseball. I expected him to have a solid 20+ Fantasy point night.

Max Scherzer @ Philadelphia Phillies

Yes, the Phillies have been surprising this season. [Let me rephrase] The Phillies pitching staff has been surprising this season…but there offense is still as shitty as ever. Scherzer should easily get 10 strikeouts.

Max Scherzer eyes

Catchers
Matt Wieters @ Texas Rangers

*Possible Change Warning*
I like this pick because the Orioles have been awesome and Rangers pitcher Colby Lewis has not. Not sold if this is the best matchup of the night.

1st Base
Adrian Gonzalez vs San Francisco Giants

*Possible Change Warning*
Gonzalez has a pretty good career line against Giants starter Johnny Cueto (who is dramatically overrated) — Batting average of .313, 3 RBIs, and a Home Run. Not sold on this pick.

2nd Base
Kike Hernandez vs San Francisco Giants

*Possible Change Warning*
Hernandez has been on fire. Which is exactly why I hate this pick.

3rd Base
Jake Lamb @ San Diego Padres

*Possible Change Warning*
Lamb has a 1.098 OPS against Padres starter, Andrew Cashner.

Shortstop
Carlos Correa vs Detroit Tigers

Justin Verlander is not the same guy. Correa will expose him tonight.

Outfield
Bryce Harper @ Philadelphia Phillies

Harper will continue to just beat the shit out of the Phillies. Its almost too easy for him at Citizens Bank Park.

David Peralta @ San Diego Padres

*Possible Change Warning*
I don’t like people playing in San Diego. Park is too big.

Hunter Pence @ Los Angeles Dodgers

Ol’ Crazy Eyes is happy not to be facing Clayton Kershaw. Dodgers’s starter Kazmir struggles against the Giants.

DraftKings season winnings: $118

--

--