Quentin Tarantino’s Mom Dated Wilt Chamberlain

Alex B.
Ride The Pine
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2013
Wilt Chamberlain with some track ladies

Director Quentin Tarantino is doing the talkshow circuit promoting his new movie Django Unchained and in a recent interview with NPR’s Terry Gross he claimed that his mother dated legendary coxman Wilt Chamberlain.

Here is some of the transcript:

TARANTINO: “I went to a mostly black school … at different points in my life I was raised by black people, raised in black homes … kind of the United Nations aspect that my mom’s house was in the early ’70s. So black culture was my culture growing up.”

GROSS: “Your mom had a United Nations kind of home?”

TARANTINO: “Yeah, it was almost like a sitcom, the way we lived in the 70s. Because she was in her 20s, she was hot, alright, she was a hot white girl and her best friend named Jackie was a hot black girl and her other best friend, Lillian, was a hot Mexican girl. And they lived in this swinging singles apartment with me.

“It was the ’70s, and I was living with these three hip single ladies, all always going out on dates all the time, dating football players and basketball players …”

GROSS: “Professional ones?”

TARANTINO: “Oh yeah, my mom, she dated Wilt Chamberlain. She’s one of 1,000.”

GROSS: “Nooo …” (both laugh).

Let’s get real for a second Quentin, if Chamberlain truly hit that legendary 20k mark he had every women in that home.

Source: [OffTheBench]
Audio: [NPR] at 31:00 mark

--

--