Remember When Ryan Braun Bet His Life That He Never Took PEDs?

Alex B.
Ride The Pine
Published in
1 min readJul 23, 2013

Major League Baseball has suspended former MVP Milwaukee Brewers outfielder Ryan Braun without pay for the remainder of the 2013 season.

Braun is potentially just the tip of the iceberg for the suspensions that are suspected to be handed down to other players tied to the investigation into Biogenesis, the Miami-based clinic tied who allegedly sold performance-enhancing drugs to many star athletes.

Braun’s admission of guilt made us think back to his press conference in February 2012 when his suspension for a positive drug test for enhanced testosterone levels was overturned on a technicality with the way the sample was delivered.

The highlights start at the 1:18 mark:

I’ve tried to handle the entire situation with honor, with integrity, with class, with dignity, and with professionalism because that’s who I am and that’s how I’ve always lived my life.

If I had done this intentionally or unintentionally, I’d be the first one to step up and say ‘I did it.’ By no means am I perfect but if I’ve ever made any mistakes in my life I’ve taken responsibility for my actions. I truly believe in my heart, and I would bet my life that this substance never entered my body at any point.

Braun also celebrated that “the truth prevailed.”

What a douche-face.

--

--