An Open Letter to Poverty

What’s your greatest fear, write a letter about it and address it.

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave
3 min readJul 12, 2024

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

“Good afternoon, students!”

“Good afternoon Mrs. Gabriella!” Students of Senior Secondary 1 of the Great High School echoed.

“I hope you all came with your essays?” “Because you all would be reading it out loud.”

“Yes, ma we came with them.”

They replied back in unison.

“Who can remind us of our topic.” Shalewa a light-skinned girl, raised her hand.

“Our topic is to write a short essay of not more than 500 words on the topic of your greatest fear, write about it, and address it.”

Students of Great High School were all asked to write a short essay by their English teacher Mrs. Gabriella, and she encouraged each of them to write out their heart and spare no detail.

“Alright thank you Shalewa, you can go back to your seat. Now I will be calling out the names I hope you all have submitted?”

“Yes, ma!”

She goes to the table and sees the stack of exercise books piled up. She collects them and begins to call out their names.

“Chukwudi Orji come and read yours.” Chukwudi comes out, she hands over his book to him.

“Now read Chukwudi, introduce yourself first, and then read out what you wrote.”

“My name is Chukwudi Orji, a student of Great High School and I am in SS1.”

“This is my answer to the question, my greatest fear is losing my family, those I hold dear to my heart.”

“I know life is unpredictable but if I had the power, it would be to give my family longevity and good health. I don’t think I would survive if I lost any of them.”

“A round of applause for him.”

“Thank you, Chukwudi, you can go and sit down.”

“The next person is Adaku Agozie, please come up.”

“All protocols duly observed, my name is Adaku Agozie and my greatest fear is failing God.”

“I am a Christian, a believer, and above all I love God.”

“I know we are all humans, but I want to make God proud through my character and lifestyle.”

“A round of applause for her”...

“Thank you Adaku Agozie, you can go back to your seat.”

“Usman Aliyu you are next!’

Usman walks to the front of the class picks up his exercise book and starts to read

“My name is Usman, and my greatest fear is achieving my goals late.”

“I am scared of delay; I am scared of failure.”

“I hope all my heart desires work according to my timeline!”

“Thank you, Usman!”

“The next person is Ephraim Oluchukwu.”

“My name is Ephraim Oluchukwu, I didn’t write much neither do I have much to say.”

“My greatest fear is poverty.”

“I don’t want to be poor; I hate poverty and I am going to work hard to make sure I move my family out from the trenches.”

“As you all know I am a scholarship student, I work during the evening as a sales boy to raise money to support myself and my family.”

“So, poverty if you have ears hear me out, hold your ears.”

“You are my greatest fear, and I will conquer you.”

“In fact, I have started, you will do yourself well to avoid me in the morning, avoid me in the night, avoid me in the afternoon, avoid me in my dreams.”

“If you don’t see whatever you see, just take it!

Thank you!

What is your greatest fear, address it!

Did you enjoy this story kindly hit the follow button and clap as much as possible!

Thank you.

✍️ChyAmakamike.

Storyteller/Content Writer

President ABG & M

Always take care of you, yourself and your body!

--

--

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave

StoryTeller 》Ada EL-ROI. 》🇳🇬.》Don't Give Up!