Clap Like A King!

Nahid
Ride The Wave
Published in
3 min readMay 23, 2024

I don’t believe in One clap at a time”.

I’d clap like a king! No one’s holding me back!
(I’d clap like a king! Who’s holding me back!) https://pixabay.com/photos/king-medieval-celebration-man-1073396/

In each Medium post, a reader can clap up to 50 times, only by clicking the icon for a little longer.

I’m giving 50 claps to all the posts I read.

If you are wondering why, let me explain.

I don’t regard myself as a judge in a competition or a literature critic. I’m a reader, who reads to know, learn, and enjoy.

The 50 claps aren’t some 50 marks in my hand to mark a test paper. Nor are they the last $50 in my wallet.

Each post I read to the last word and understand what I read, gets 50 claps from me. If it isn’t readable, I would leave it in the middle. If it made me read till the end, the author is worth a few claps. But why give a few when I can afford the free 50s? I’m not that stingy!

Just Imagine, If I were a king!
(Just Imagine, If I were a king!) Image Generated with CANVA AI

When I love some sentences or concepts in a post, I highlight them. However, I can’t do that while reading it on my phone screen.

When I have enjoyed reading the post or have some idea to share, I certainly leave a comment on it.

Some people may find my reactions are exaggerated but I’d disagree. I’m an enthusiastic reader. I also love communicating ideas and sharing thoughts. Getting to read others’ ideas seems fun.

Screenshot: I often disagree with Grammarly.

As it’s neither a competition nor a test, and a few more claps and reactions would create an imbalance among the best, better, and not-so-better writers.

I understand that these reactions have an impact on the algorithm.

But we can’t create a competition among different categories like short stories, poems, tech posts, DIYs, SEO content, personal experiences, and so on. All areas of writing have their value to different groups of people. So, what I enjoy reading deserves my 50 claps.

If my claps would help a post I have read to reach more readers, I’d love to do that.

Lastly, I’m bad at counting. I don’t have the time to count whom to give how much. So, without a doubt, I spend my free claps. After all, I don’t have to earn to spend.

As for my readers, who leave me with little to no claps, I wish them all the best with all the claps they are saving.

May all my precious readers get 10 times the claps, comments, and highlights they give me!

Now that you have read so far, have some…

(Yeah! It’s all Yours!) Image Generated with CANVA AI

Find more in the following link.

Nahid's Article Collection

15 stories

Nahid's Story Collection

5 stories

Nahid's Poetry Collection

22 stories

--

--