Finding Your Own Sense of Enough

Cherry Thoughts 🌸
Ride The Wave
Published in
2 min read4 days ago
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I’ve always been the kind of person who’s scared to step out of my comfort zone. I overthink everything, especially the “what ifs.” What if I fail? What if it doesn’t work out? I end up doing nothing because I’m too afraid to even start. It feels like I’m just drifting through life, like I’m on a boat going wherever it takes me. I’m not steering it, I’m just along for the ride. I don’t really have big dreams or passions, and when people ask what I want to do with my life, I honestly don’t know what to say. I’m just thankful for where I am now.

But here’s the thing—people keep telling me I should want more. They say I should keep chasing new dreams because what I’ve done isn’t enough yet. And I wonder,

Why? Why can’t I feel like I’ve already reached my dream? Why is there always this pressure to do more?

It made me think: if we’re always told to never feel satisfied, when do we actually get to feel good about ourselves? When do we finally feel like we’re enough? If we’re always worrying about the next thing, how do we ever enjoy life?

I realized that constantly chasing something new can make it hard to appreciate what we already have. Some people love the hustle, the feeling of always working towards something bigger. But for me, I feel like I’ve done enough. I’m happy with what I’ve achieved, and I don’t need to keep proving myself to anyone.

The truth is, "enough" means different things to different people.

For some, it’s about always setting new goals. But for others, like me, it’s about knowing when to stop and enjoy the moment. I don’t need to keep chasing more just because people think I should.

So, I’ve decided to accept that I am enough, and I don’t need to constantly push myself. I’m choosing to enjoy the life I have instead of always looking for the next thing. And honestly, that feels pretty good.

I hope you too find your own sense of satisfaction, whatever that looks like for you. It’s okay to feel like you’ve done enough, and it’s also okay if you want to keep striving for more. There’s no right or wrong path, only the one that feels true to you.

--

--