If a Man touches you, you will get pregnant.

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave
Published in
3 min readMay 2, 2024
Photo by Doug Linstedt on Unsplash

“Amara how was school today; I see you are quite busy.”

Amara raised her head to see who was talking to her it was Aunt Nancy. A youth corper living down the street that was posted to her community. The corpers lodge she stays in is not far from Amara’s house.

“Good evening, Aunt Nancy!”

“School was great!”

Aunt Nancy sat down beside her.

“You are doing your assignment.”

“Yes aunt, thank you for helping me to do my assignment over the weekend, I passed all. “My mum said she would send over fruits for you.”

“There’s no need okay.” “Moreover, I enjoy helping you to do your assignment.”

“Aunt your brain is sharp, my English and Phonetics teacher told the whole class to clap for me, I scored the highest in the assignment.”

“I see, well you are a good student and a brilliant one.”

“Thank you, Aunt.”

“You' re welcome!”

“So which assignment is this Amara handed her exercise book to Nancy who glanced through the pages.”

“This is health education, and your assignment is on sex education.”

“Do you understand what you are supposed to do?”

“Aunt Nancy I am really confused about this topic; you know I started seeing my period earlier this year.”

“Yes”

“Mummy told me that since I have started to see my period once a boy or man touches me, I would get pregnant.”

Nancy gave out a light chuckle.

“Aunt is not funny, in school today the teacher explained that it’s not that kind of touch, I think the teacher does not know how to teach this topic.

“I was scared Aunt do you know since then I have not allowed my male classmate to touch my hands, I have been avoiding them like lepers to avoid getting pregnant.”

“I can’t be mother at 12 years, it’s today my teacher said is not that kind of touch.”

“Then I came to a conclusion.”

“What conclusion?” Nancy asked.

“It’s either my teacher or mum is lying, they are both confusing me.”

“I don’t understand?”

“Okay Amara, Aunt Nancy is here to the rescue.”

“Now, we would start from the beginning, The definition of sex education….”

There’s this saying that is popular in my area. Infact it’s been passed down from generation to generation 😬😂. I would say any Nigerian girl that has gotten to the age of puberty has heard about it one way or the other especially once a young girl starts menstruating.

I can’t speak for other places or countries because I don’t live there. When I was young, I heard it a lot.

I can’t say if parents especially fathers are shy to talk about sex to their young kids or they just distance their selves from the topic hoping the child would figure it out either from school or the mothers would do the justice.

And either way when the mother starts the first line is “NOW, YOU ARE WOMAN IF A MAN TOUCHES YOU, YOU WILL GET PREGNANT”.

Hopefully, future parents will also tell the teenage boy that “NOW, YOU CAN GET A GIRL PREGNANT” that way it becomes more balanced and understood. The lessons shouldn’t just be for the girl child alone but also for the boy child.

SEX EDUCATION IS FOR THE MALE AND FEMALE GENDER.

Share your experiences and thoughts.

Thank you for reading, if you enjoyed this story kindly hit the follow button and clap as much as possible. Thank you!

✍️ChyAmakamike.

Storyteller/ Content writer

President ABG & M

Always take care of you, yourself, and your body!

--

--

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave

StoryTeller 》Ada EL-ROI. 》🇳🇬.》Don't Give Up!