Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Pencil and Pen

Royhan Fawwaz
Ride The Wave
Published in
5 min readJul 11, 2024

--

Nothing is more competitive than myself. Don't look foolish; act like an intelligent person. Don't let others be above me. Specifically, don't let my friends be one step ahead. Looking pathetic is my fear. Appearing ignorant is something I must avoid. I am perfection.

Starting with self-motivation, “A great person is one who makes few mistakes.” From this push, I ended up isolating myself. Isolating myself from all mistakes. Because I misunderstood the true meaning of that phrase.

I interpreted that motivation as needing perfection. And perfection is the absence of mistakes. More extremely, I must know more than others. Sometimes, if I don't know something but my friends do, I'll pretend to understand and secretly look it up on Google. Then, I'll quickly delete my search history. Again, don't let it be known that I didn't know.

My perfection is validated by my friends. I ended up being known for my minimal ignorance. And that has stuck with me. Oh, the perfection has thickened within me. More fear of ignorance. But if you were my friend, you would think that I am indeed perfect. Haha, that’s my superiority.

That's just how I am. Cultivated from a young age, becoming a habit that is hard to break. However, I must admit that I have learned a lot and gained knowledge. My insights have broadened. But one thing, I must appear as the one who…

--

--