Poverty Is Real.

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2024
Photo by Mary on Unsplash

“How did you get here?”

“Deji how?”

“When I came to this market last week you said that you push trucks as a hobby from the look of things this is not a hobby.”

“Raymond, Deji nods his head sorrowfully I refuse to listen, look at you, look at your car, look at your outfit, it’s obvious that you are doing well.”

“Deji what happened?”

“Raymond a stubborn fly that refuses to listen follows the corpse to the grave — I am that fly that refused to listen and I am paying for it.”

“I wrote WAEC three times before I passed, you know how notorious I was in secondary school, I fought everyone.”

“My parents tried to advise me, but I refused to listen. “My siblings and all my relations tried their best, but I still refused to listen.”

“When I finally got admission into the university, I joined a cult group and I got caught.”

“I was rusticated then I went to another university and was also rusticated due to cultism and violent activities on campus.”

“My father sent me to learn a skill but instead I squandered my time and my boss's money.”

“I connived with some boys who robbed him and shot him, I was arrested and sent to prison, I have been in prison for 15 years.”

“I just got out due to government pardon for good behaviour, my father died of a heart attack due to the series of heartbreak.” “My siblings relocated to Canada with my mum and cut ties with me.”

“Everyone has left and abandoned me.”

“Raymond, I had no other option than to become a truck pusher to survive.”

“See what I brought upon myself; poverty is real it has dealt with me.

“If I had known.”

“Calm down Deji, is never too late, you can still pick up the pieces of your life.”

“How Raymond?

“How??”

Someone taps Deji for him to come and remove his truck from the way.

“Deji wake up!”

“Deji wake up!”

“It’s Saturday go and do your chores.”

Deji wakes up sweating profusely. His sister Titi looks at him confused.

“Are you okay?”

“Titi where are my?”

“In our home.”

“Where is mum and dad?”

“Downstairs”.

“How old are my?”

“15 Deji, is everything okay?”

His sister asks looking worried.

Deji screams

“It is a dream, I am not a truck pusher, I am not poor, I am not an ex-convict, I am a changed person.”

“I want to go to school.”

“But today is Saturday and you refused to attend lessons; Remi has left.”

“I would finish my chores and join him; I don’t want to go to prison or become a truck pusher.”

He rushes out of the room to go and meet his parents as his sister follows behind looking worried and confused.

Dearest Readers let me know your thoughts. If you enjoyed this story kindly hit the follow button and clap as much possible. Thank you.

✍️ChyAmakamike.

Storyteller/Content writer

President ABG & M

Always take care of you, yourself and your body.

--

--

ChyAmakamike.
Ride The Wave

StoryTeller 》Ada EL-ROI. 》🇳🇬.》Don't Give Up!