Rediscovering Balance

Moving from Self-Sacrifice to Self-Prioritization

Cherry Thoughts 🌸
Ride The Wave
1 min readSep 13, 2024

--

Photo by Kellen Riggin on Unsplash

For a long time, I believed that my happiness depended on making others happy. I thought that if I put others' needs first, I would find my own joy. However, this approach led to burnout. I felt drained and unappreciated, and people even labeled me a pushover.

Through this experience, I learned that relying solely on making others happy is not sustainable. I had to face the reality that this mindset was causing me harm. It was a hard lesson, but it taught me the importance of finding a balance between caring for others and taking care of myself.

I hope that you, too, will find happiness within yourself—not based on others but from your own fulfillment. This way, your happiness will be genuine and lasting, rather than depending solely on pleasing others.

Remember, prioritizing yourself is not selfish; it’s about finding a healthy balance between yourself and others. It’s okay to do what brings you happiness.

--

--