Should My Hobbies Become Work?

Cherry Thoughts 🌸
Ride The Wave
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2024

I often wonder if I should turn my hobbies into work. I have a lot of things I love to do, but I worry that if I make one of them a job, the fun might disappear.

My family and some of my friends always say, “Why not start a business with your hobbies?” But then I hear others warn me that turning something I enjoy into work could lead to burnout. It’s so confusing!

Sometimes, I think about whether I really need to make money from what I love. But then I remind myself that it’s totally okay to keep my hobbies just for fun. There’s no rule that says I have to make them a job.

I’ve considered keeping my hobbies separate from work. Maybe I could try doing something small with them just for fun, without any pressure. This way, I can see if I still enjoy them after trying to turn them into a job.

In the end, it’s all about what makes you happy.

I’m learning it’s perfectly fine to enjoy my hobbies for their own sake, without stressing about deadlines or money. By keeping this balance, I can keep the joy alive and let my hobbies stay a fun part of my life.

--

--