What Supplies Do Rideshare Drivers Need for Themselves and their Passengers (Uber Lyft)

Clint Rauscher
Rideshare Driver
Published in
5 min readJan 10, 2023

HELP: I need 100 followers. If you like my articles, PLEASE click the green follow button under my profile on the right hand side of the screen!

You don’t need many supplies as a rideshare driver, but below are some that might come in handy.

For Passengers

The first thing you might think of as a driver is to provide water or gum to your passengers. You can if you want. I did for a little while. Water is cheap, but it does cost money and I do not feel that it really gets you any good will nor extra tips from passengers. And passengers will spill the water, stuff the bottle between the seats or on the floorboard of your car where you can’t see it, and then the next passenger will complain.

The only supply that you really definitely need for your passengers is a charging cable. This is not 100% necessary, but will make your passengers very happy and will result in higher tips. The problem is that passengers have different devices and therefore need different connectors. So, I found the cable listed below, it has 3 different outputs which cover most of the major devices that passengers might need to charge.

https://amzn.to/3ZuzMsC

You might also want to keep some barf/vomit bags close by, especially if work late at night picking people up from bars. If I pickup someone that seems drunk, I will offer them a bag. Unfortunately, they usually turn them down and think they are fine. And eventually try to stick their heads out the window when they do get sick.

https://amzn.to/3X25bkq

For Drivers

I highly recommend getting a dashcam that records outside and inside the vehicle. I have a VanTrue N2 Pro. It has a dual cam that shoots out the front of the car and inside the car. Here are my reasons for having one of these:

  • In case of an accident, you have proof that it was not your fault.
  • It promotes good behavior by your passengers. People behave better if they know they are being recorded.
  • Protects you from potential criminals. You can register your dashcam with Uber and Uber notifies riders before they get into your car that they will be recorded. I have never had anyone complain about it and in fact most people totally get why you need one. I also think that it might deter potential criminals or people who enjoy acting rudely. If someone was going to commit a crime against a rideshare driver they might think twice about one that has a dashcam recording them.
  • It protects you from false passenger complaints. One of the biggest negatives to driving for Uber is false passenger complaints. Some passengers will try to get free rides by making false claims about their drivers. I have been reported to Uber by passengers for being in an accident while they were in the car, for being rude to passengers, and for being drunk. None of these things happened, but Uber turned my account off for several days while they “investigated” and I lost income because of it. I should also note that in each case Uber refused to look at my video footage, but perhaps if something had progressed to a court case then it would have been helpful.

https://amzn.to/3II4HeO

The above camera has a sticky cup mount, but I found that it continually fell down. So, I got this clamp device to connect it to my rearview mirror and it works great.

https://amzn.to/3IAqy80

I highly recommend getting a backseat/pet cover. I have the one listed below. I do not keep my backseat covered, but I keep this in the trunk of my car, in fact I use it as a trunk liner. But it is always there if I need it. If someone spills something in my backseat, even though I have asked them not to drink in my car, I can pull the seat cover out of the trunk, put it over the backseat, and keep working. I can also pull it out when a passenger has a dog and quickly install it.

https://amzn.to/3IVHyG7

As an Uber or Lyft driver, you are in your car sitting for very long periods of time. After a few months, I began to have back issues and a friend recommended this cushion and lumbar support system. There are cheaper versions, but this is the one that I have and it really seemed to work. I have not had a back issue in the last two years. My only complaint about it is they the cushion cover rubs down after about a year and I would like to be able to replace the cover and not the full cushion.

https://amzn.to/3XkCOxz

https://amzn.to/3ZuJNWr

You will also want to keep some air fresheners in your car, some spot stain remover, some sanitizing wipes, tissues, etc. I also keep some quarters in a bag in case my tire pressure light comes on the only air pump I can find takes quarters. But you can usually find most these types of supplies at a gas station if you have an emergency.

If you decide to sign up to drive for Uber or Lyft, please use my referral links, or codes if you sign-up directly in the apps:
Uber Referral Link / code: h1u313krg1pw
Lyft Referral Link / code: ARTHUR28323

Please click follow, if you like this article.

--

--

Clint Rauscher
Rideshare Driver

Please click follow, if you like these articles. Uber driver, tango teacher, blogger, etc. Uber Referral Link: h1u313krg1pw Lyft Referral code: ARTHUR28323